The former Chief Executive of Newry, Mourne and Down District Council has been appointed to the Board of the Arts Council NI.

Liam Hannaway is one of six new members appointed to the board and he will continue on the board to June 2024.

Former Chief Executive, Mr Hannaway has experience of establishing governance arrangements, committee structures, setting direction/strategy, through the establishment of corporate plans, and managing budgets. He was responsible for the publication of the Council Community plan using leadership and negotiating skills, as well as stakeholder engagement to obtain agreement for the plan from public sector officials, politicians and community representatives. He does not hold any other public appointments and has not undertaken any political activity in the last five years.

Welcoming the appointments, Communities Minister Carál Ní Chuilín said “I look forward to these individuals bringing their particular skills and experiences to their new positions at this particularly difficult time for the arts sector, and help lead on its recovery.”

She has extended the first terms of appointment of Dr Katy Radford (Vice-Chair) and Cian Smyth (Board member) with effect from 1 July 2020 to 31 December 2020. They have both served on the Board since 1 December 2015.

The Minister also agreed to a new open competition for the appointment of a Chair, Vice-Chair and further members to the Board, with further details to be released over the coming months. 

New Board Members

  • Miss Julie Andrews
  • Mrs Lynne Best
  • Mr Liam Hannaway
  • Mr Sean Kelly
  • Ms Una McRory
  • Mr Máirtín Ó Muilleoir
Pin It


Please consider supporting


FOLLOW NEWRY.IE require Cookies on some parts of our site to enable full functionality. By using you consent to our use of Cookies. You can use your browser settings to disable cookies on this or any other website.