Newry, Mourne and Down District Council in association with the Sports Association Newry, Mourne and Down (SANDSA) has announced the finalists of its sports awards for 2020.

The winners of the NMD Sports Awards will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday 5 March in the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, Newcastle. Broadcaster and journalist Claire McCollum will compere the evening and welcome the ‘original eccentric genius between the sticks’, Liverpool legend Bruce Grobbelaar, as the guest speaker on the night. 

NMD Sports Awards

To come along and celebrate alongside our local sporting stars, buy your tickets online at WWW.NEWRYMOURNEDOWN.ORG

The Finalists

The finalists for the NMD Sports Awards in association with SANDSA are: 

Junior Club Team of the Year 2019 

  • Sacred Heart School - Netball
  • St Colman’s College – Gaelic Football
  • Warrenpoint Golf Club – Golf

Senior Club Team of the Year 2019 

  • The Ballynahinch Rugby Football Club 1st XV (Fifteen)
  • Down Netball Team
  • Kilcoo Gaelic Football Club

Sportsperson or Team of the Year with a Disability 2019

  • Megan McElheron – Equestrian 
  • Down Special Olympics Club - Bocce 
  • Sportability Swimming Club

Young Sport Volunteer of the Year 2019

  • Dearbhal Quinn – Newry Sportability Swimming Club
  • Niall Flynn – Loughinisland Gaelic Football Club
  • Chloe O’Hare – St Mary’s High School, Newry Netball/Athletics
  • Abbey Ferris – Midway United Football Club

Sport Volunteer of the Year 2019

  • Bernard Robb – Saddle & Reins 
  • Pat McGivern – Midway United Football Club
  • Sean McCreesh – Belleeks Gaelic Football Club

Disability Coach of the Year 2019

  • Francie Craven – Newry Sportability Trampolining Club
  • Elaine Cole – Newry & District Gateway Club - Football
  • Clare Murtagh – Saddle & Reins
  • John Cunningham - Newry & District Gateway Club – Football

Technical Official of the Year 2019

  • Ryan Kelly – Ardglass Gaelic Football Club
  • Tommy Deegan – Newcastle League Football
  • Rodney Kimberley – Carnbane League Football

Coach of the Year 2019 

  • Natalie Reilly – Down Netball Club
  • Cushla Connor – Newry Gymnastics Club
  • Joseph Ferris – Savat NI - Martial Arts

Junior Sportsperson of the Year 2019 

  • Oisin O’Hare – Carrickcruppen St Patrick’s Gaelic Football Club
  • Reuben Reilly – Tir Na nOg - Trampoline
  • Aislinn McMahon – Crossmaglen Rangers Gaelic Football Club
  • Lauren Madine – East Down Athletics Club

Senior Sportsperson of the Year 2019 

  • Zak Hanna – Newcastle Athletics Club
  • Kate O’Connor – Irish National Team Athletics/Heptathlon
  • Cailiosa Ni Dhuill – St Paul’s High School - Netball
  • Hanna Quinn - St Paul’s High School – Netball

Life-Time Services to Sport 2019

  • David Workman – Ballynahinch Rugby Club
  • Willie McCracken – Newry City Runners 
  • Kathleen Heenan – Newcastle Harbour Swimmers
  • Trevor McConnell – Ballyvea Football Club
Pin It



Please consider supporting


FOLLOW NEWRY.IE require Cookies on some parts of our site to enable full functionality. By using you consent to our use of Cookies. You can use your browser settings to disable cookies on this or any other website.